When Stephen F. Jones built his home in the 1880’s, it was a crowning achievement in his career as a cattleman. Built with hand-cut native limestone, the 11-room house is characteristic of the Second Empire style of 19th Century architecture. The massive three-story barn is impressive in its own right. Visitors also enjoy touring the Lower Fox Creek School, a one-room schoolhouse located on a nearby hilltop. A spring on the hillside provided water to the house. Thus the name, the Spring Hill Ranch. The ranch was designated a National Historic Landmark in February of 1997.rn
The original depot burned in 1902 and was replaced in 1903. In 1913, due in part to the very heavy passenger and freight traffic, a new brick depot trimmed in native cut limestone was built for a cost of $20,000. The new depot was up to date in every way and was one of the best in the Santa Fe System, and is now listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A Caboose was donated by Santa Fe in 1990.rn
See the Mural of the world’s only Family to have 3 World Champions in the Turtle Association, and the World Champion All-Around Cowboy to win in both the Turtle Association and the Rodeo Cowboys Association.
The mural is placed on the Flint Hills Rodeo Grounds, Strong City, Kansas. It stands on the north side of Highway 50 just inside the Flint Hills Rodeo gate. It is prepared so you may turn in the grounds and drive up to it. It stands 10′ x 22′ and is composed of four 4′ x 5′ portraits of members of the Emmett Roberts family. It is showcased in a handcrafted stand of outdoor cedar with a shingled roof. The showcase was designed and the work done by Max Gordon, Mike Horst and a host of cowboy friends.
The paintings were done by Dena Kleinsorge, rancher and commissioned artist; Peggy Lyon, art instructor and professional artist; Debbie Schroer, professional artist; and Audrey Murrell, professional artist.
Marjorie, the oldest of the six children – winner of the women’s bronc riding contest at the1941 Cheyenne Frontier Days. This was equivalent to a world championship at the time.
Ken, the eldest son of the Roberts children – World rnChampion Bull Rider in 1943, 1944, and 1945. He was the runner up to the World Title in Saddle Bronc Riding in 1945.
Gerald, the next son of the family – World All-Around Cowboy in 1942 and again in 1948.
Emmett Roberts was named 1977 Rodeo Man of the Year. He owned the rodeo stock contracting firm, Roberts Rodeo Company, from 1946-1961, in partnership with his sons Ken and Howard.
CAMP WOOD YMCA is a precious gem of the Kansas Flint Hills. Where else can you experience the many treasures offered by the Tallgrass Prairie. Situated on 630 acres of native grassland, Camp Wood is bordered on the north by the Cottonwood River, with our 19 acre lake providing many of our recreational and educational opportunities such as swimming, fishing, boating, and wildlife viewing. We are within ten miles of the Z-Bar Ranch/Tallgrass Prairie Preserve of the National Parks system and historic Cottonwood Falls.
We are a year round facility open to any groups to utilize our property. Groups are welcome to stay just for the day or come for several days. We have many different housing options from rustic cabins, a log cabin, lodge rooms, and two Stone Family Cabins. We also offer different activities including teambuilding, swimming, archery, canoeing, horseback riding, arts and crafts, hiking, fishing, basketball, volleyball, baseball, frisbee golf, and many more. Our newest addition to activities is our Alpine Tower, a 50 foot climbing tower.
We have hosted many different groups including local colleges Residence Assistant’s teambuilding retreats, board meetings, girl night out campouts, weddings, Girl Scout Mother/Daughter weekends, Boy Scout campouts, church retreats, High School Student Council Teambuilding retreat, and a fraternity new member orientation.
JONES LODGE is the heart of Camp Wood YMCA, housing the office, dining hall, kitchen and lodging for up to 23 people. The dining hall is spacious enough to serve you and 150 other friends. A large native limestone fireplace, cozy alcove, and piano, add warmth and atmosphere to the dining area. The alcove is a perfect spot for a small group discussion or family activity such as a movie marathon. (TV-VCR unit is available upon request.) This facility is heated, air conditioned, and has it’s own restroom and shower facilities.
Our roomy kitchen is fully equipped with industrial appliances, cookware, and utensils. It can be rented on a per day basis, which allows you the opportunity to cook for your own group, or Camp Wood can provide menu choices and well balanced meals as quoted on the price list.
THE BUNKHOUSE: What would a trip to the Flinthills be like without staying in your very own log cabin. The bunkhouse is a duplex made out of Ponderosa Pine logs which give an essence of nature while providing a state of the art facility. The Camp Wood bunkhouse has many of the amenities of home with heating/air conditioning, independent shower and bathroom facilities, along with natural wood-framed bunk beds that can sleep up to sixteen of your friends on either side. Previous residents find that the community orientated arrangement within the bunk house provides a perfect atmosphere for reflection over the days activities, with the occasional late night chat between friends. (Total occupancy, 32)
Our RUSTIC CABINS are a mainstay of the Camp Wood experience and arernpopular among families and youth alike. These quaint sleeping cabins provide comfortable lodging for up to nine family members, friends, or co-workers. With screened doors and large windows open, air free flows through the cabins, allowing you to almost hear the voices of seasons past. The cabins are serviced by communal shower and restroom facilities and are not heated or air conditioned. But are the perfect spot for the adventurous soul.
HUTCH HALL CHAPEL is ideally located on top of the hill next to Jones Lodge. With native limestone walls graced with many paned windows and a cathedral ceiling, the rugged nature of the building is ideal for groups large or small. With seating for up to 200 guests, groups may find the multi-purpose stage area useful for presentations, theater productions, weddings, or lectures. This facility is not winterized.
The STONE is a quaint family cabin made of native limestone and is now available for use. It’s the perfect place to get away and read a book,rnor gather with family or friends and relax, while escaping your busy schedules. This cabin, which can sleep up to six, is heated and air conditioned and includes a fully furnished efficiency kitchen-living space combination and one bedroom with shower and restroom facilities. It is graced with a large screened in front porch, complete with porch swings, a wonderful spot to watch the sunrise.
Stone II is a quaint family cabin faced with native limestone. It is a newly constructed, heated and air-conditioned facility to match the older stone cabin. This cabin comes with two bedrooms with queen beds, a combination living room / kitchen, bathroom, shower and of course a front porch. As with the Stone all that is needed is your food and clothes.
The HEALTH CENTER houses our nursing staff during summer residence camp. The rest of the year this comfortable bungalow provides the perfect space for a family get-away or a small group retreat. Up to six people can enjoy this living space with an efficiency kitchen and full bath.
RV and tent camping space is also available.
In addition to the variety of housing choices at Camp Wood YMCA there are many other features available for visitors.
These include:rn * Three fire ringsrn THE QUAD, a large open area within the perimeter of the rustic cabins and Jones Lodge, is enhanced with a fire ring and benches for thosernlate night campfires and ghost stories.
HI-Y, the highest point on camp, provides a campfire and amphitheater seating perfect for sing alongs and skits.
THE OUTDOOR CHAPEL, is nestled on a side hill with a limestone staging area and fire ring. The terraced hillside is furnished with wood bench seating and the entire chapel area is graced by a canopy of large shade trees.
* Two scenic overlooksrn THE OVERLOOK OF FAR HORIZONS possesses a panoramic view of the Cottonwood River Valley as well as a quiet place to watch those magnificent Kansas sunsets.
THE RISING SUN OVERLOOK is the perfect place to welcome a new day as the sun comes peaking over the hills of the Tallgrass Prairie to the east.
* LAKE HALL not only provides swimming, boating, and fishing to Camp Wood visitors but has a maintained senior accessible nature trail which leads to a wildlife viewing hut with a 180 degree view of the lake and surrounding country side.
Jam sessions EVERY Friday night at the Emma Chase Cafe (or out-of-doors on Broadway, weather permitting). MUSICIANS and LISTENERS WELCOME! Music themes are: rnFirst Friday of every month – TallGrass Pickers (acousticrn Country music)rnSecond Friday of every month – K-177 BlueGrass Pickin’- acoustic BlueGrass jam sessionrnThird Friday of every month – TallGrass Gospel Singin’ – acoustic Gospel music.rnFourth Friday of every month – Old Timey Rock & Roll and Vintagern Country – we permit amplification at this event. rnFifth Friday of any month – Folk Music and Contra Music jam session – acoustic. rnIn the summertime, bring your lawn chairs; we’ll be outside anytime weather permits. rn
An impressive local memorial to Veterans of all wars and conflicts. Financed and constructed by local Veterans.
Restoration of an original Cavalry Barn located in Swope Park in Cottonwood Falls, KS.
Swope Park consist of 30 acres and includes the Municipal Swimming Pool, Chase County Fair Grounds, Shelter Houses, Lighted Athletic Fields and Playground Equipment.rn
Chase State Fishing Lake and Wildlife Area is located 3 miles from Strong City and 1.5 miles west of Cottonwood Falls in the center of the scenic Flint Hills region of Kansas. The 109-acre lake was constructed in 1964. The lake and surrounding 383 acre wildlife area are owned and managed by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks.rn
rnFishing and swimming are available with excellent camping grounds and rest room facilities.rn
The Roniger Brothers, Frank and George, were born in Highland, Madison County, Illinois. They came to Chase County, Kansas, in 1885.rn
rnThe museum was built to house the Roniger collection of Indian artifacts and other Chase County historical articles and artifacts.rn
rnThe Roniger Brothers’ collection of arrowheads is considered one of the largest individual collections in Kansas. It results from a lifetime of collecting sought by the Smithsonian Institute, the brothers said the collection was made in Kansas and that is where it should stay.rn
rnIn addition to arrowheads, the museum also contains other items from early day history. There are many stuffed animals and wild birds that are native to this county.rn
rnA recent addition to the museum is the Lenke collection, this group of Indian relics is one of the best anywhere.rn