The Sam Wood House (also known as the Nelson Ranch), the original part was built in the 1860’s and is now known as “Buck Creek Ranch.”rn
[Chase County Courthouse] The picturesque Chase County Courthouse, the oldest in use in Kansas today, was built during 1871-73 in the Renaissance style of the Louis XIII period. The 113-feet high, three story structure is of native limestone with mansard roof, cupola, basement, walnut staircase and balustrade. The courthouse bell was hung in 1886, still sounding today, and the stone wall around the courthouse lawn was laid in 1881. The structure was built at a cost of $42,599.88. It is kept in excellent repair. The first courthouse was a small log building near the present high school.rn
The building that houses the Chase County Historical Society Museum and Library is one of 9 places in Chase County which has been entered on the National Register of Historic Places.
The two story building, constructed of native stone, was built in 1882 and was originally used as the Chase County national Bank, which continued in business until 1928. The building was used by several businesses in the years following. The Chase County Historical Society purchased the building in 1976, and made it the museum and library & office.
There are two floors of exhibits reflecting the life styles and history of early Chase County. The schoolroom depicts school as it used to be with old school books, annuals, and pictures available for viewing. One of two antique organs in the museum is believed to be the first organ brought into Kansas arriving in Chase County in 1863. Another display commemorates the E.C. Roberts family with memorabilia of their early cowboy days in Strong City.
In addition, there is a wonderful military display, a dental office with original dental equipment, and a display regarding the 1931 plane crash that took the lives of 8 people, including Notre Dame coach Knute Rockne. Tours to the Rockne crash site can be arranged with advanced notice.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985, the area at the Cottonwood Dam is a place to enjoy watching the fishing for catfish on the bridge. Stop and listen to the relaxing sound of the falls. North of the river is Bates Grove Park which offers picnic facilities.
A group of concerned citizens is applying for grants and loans for a community trail project which will link Cottonwood Falls to Strong City via a pedestrian/bike trail which will continue on to the Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve. This project includes restoration of the bridge.
The stone building was used to house prisoners before the courthouse was finished in 1883.rn
Sailboating, fishing, picnicking, baseball diamonds, courts, playgound.
Get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life at this 200-acre lake.
Santa Fe Lake offers outdoor fun, fishing, and relaxation. Hike or bike the trails and take in the beautiful scenery surrounding the lake. The area has great wildlife viewing and photography opportunities. Campgrounds are available.
FishingrnA Kansas State fishing license and a Santa Fe Lake recreation permit are required.
Boating and Personal Watercraft
Boat ramps and docks are available for boats, personal watercraft.
Electrical Hook-Ups, Dump station, Primitive campsites, Restrooms, Playground, Swimming beach, Boating, Boat ramp lanes, Courtesy docks, Beach, Picnic areas, Nature Trails, Fishing, Primitive camping, Lodging nearby, Accessible parking/accommodations, Pets allowed (some breed restrictions apply), Admission charge
11367 SW Shore Drivern316firstname.lastname@example.org
Downtown Augusta, Inc. is a Main Street program with the State of Kansas. They help to develop the downtown area, maintaining the downtown historical businesses, attracting new businesses, and revitalizing business growth. Strengthening the downtown area in economical development, working to create employment, and stabilizing current businesses.
Downtown Augusta, Inc. is a non-profit organization.
The 1875 Drinkwater & Schriver Flour Mill is located on the Cottonwood River at Cedar Point. Flour was milled for the area and also shipped to Eastern bakeries until the 1937. O.H. Drinkwater was an avid abolitionist and the third settler in the county. He is credited with naming Cedar Creek and also the town of Cedar Point. He built a log dam across the Cottonwood River in 1867 and set up a sawmill. Joined by Peter Paul Schriver eight years later, he replaced both his mill and dam with stone structures and began milling flour.rn
Erected in honor of the Vietnam War Veterans.