Some of the nations best pheasant hunting is in Western Kansas. The area around Hugoton is no different. It offers some of the best pheasant hunting around.rn
Cool off on those hot summer days at the Hugoton Municipal Swimming Pool. Zip down the water slides, splash in from the diving boards, or relax on the side of the pool. A great way to escape the heat of the summer.rn
There are three parks within the city limits, with City Park located at Third and Main. This is the largest park with facilities for picnics and barbecues, public restrooms, as well as a large playground area with newly added equipment for the children. Many family and class reunions have taken place here over the years.
Everett Rowden Park is nestled into a residential area at Tenth and West City Limits. This park also includes a picnic shelter with barbecue grills and plenty of open room for a game of Frisbee or tag. Playground equipment includes a basketball court and the old-fashioned merry-go-round and some swings. This park was dedicated to Everett Rowden, a former City Superintendent, in 1987.
Smith Pioneer Park is located at Eighth and Main and provides a welcoming atmosphere with a central gazebo and sitting benches for those who enjoy the serenity of nature. The gazebo has been used in the past as the stage for a summer wedding. This park was donated by Aldora (Smith) Parsons and family, the previous resident of this lot. rn
The Hugoton Meteorite was located on the J.D. Lynch farm, in Stevens County, four miles west and two miles north of Hugoton. It is now housed at the Arizona State University for the Center For Meteorite Studies and Museum of Geology at Tempe.
This part of the meteorite fall was identified by Mr. Nininger in March of 1935. Nininger lectured at an high school assembly in Hugoton. After the lecture J.D. Lynch, Jr. introduced himself and explained that his father had run his farm implements over a rock. Nininger had a sample of a meteorite that he used for his discussion and J.D. explained the similarities of the meteorite and the rock in his father’s field. Nininger then accompanied J.D. to his father’s farm where a search began.
After various meteorite fragments were found in the field one of Nininger’s probes hit something hard and firm underneath the soil. A cautious effort to dig for the meteorite began.
In all, Mr. Nininger reported that the main mass of the find, plus fragments weighed about 749 pounds at the location. When the fragments that were collected were added, the total weight now is about 800 pounds.
This nine-hole municipal course consists of lush bluegrass fairways, grass greens and a few sand traps. A driving range is situated just east of the first hole. The course is open from daylight to dark, 365 days a year, weather permitting.
A new clubhouse was erected in 1999 at the entrance of the golf course. The new building offers golfers a chance to relax in comfort with refreshments, television, and reading material as well as numerous items for sale in the pro shop. A banquet room with a kitchen area is available to members for men and women’s night barbecues and special occasions.
The gas well that was dug into the Hugoton Gas Field in 1945 is still producing today. The well equipment is on display at the location of the well in the Museum Complex.
The Early Dwelling House in Hugoton was built in 1886-1887 by B.E. Stehlt. Stehle was the first druggist in Hugoton, Kansas.
The house is currenty furnished as it would have been for a family in 1885, and is located in the Museum Complex.
The Hugoton Santa Fe Depot was first known in 1913, when the railroad came to Stevens county. It was removed from its location in 1982 and taken to the museum complex, having a service record of over 70 years. Some of the accessories inside are still missing, although a search continues from final installation.rn
The Stevens County Gas & Historical Museum was dedicated on May 16, 1961. It was established as a memento of the Hugoton Gas Field and the progressive development of Stevens County.
Currently, the gas well, drilled in 1945,is still producing. The 1945 well equipment is on display at the location of the well.
The main museum building houses displays of early 1900 furnishings including a chapel, dining room, parlor, kitchen, and a sewing room. Also, in the main buildings displays of Indian artifacts, farming tools, a printing and western shop, and art room bring back life to the days of long ago.
Completely restored buildings on the half-block museum complex include the Santa Fe Hugoton Train Depot, an 1887 school house, an 1887 home (one of the oldest homes in Hugoton), and an early day grocery store and barber shop. There’s a Professional Building (a tribute to Hugoton’s past judges and lawyers), the first jail house in Hugoton, and a 1905 church (the second church built in Hugoton). The Agricultural Building, completed in 1995, offers extensive displays of farm equipment & implements. rn rn
The Early Methodist Church was built in 1905-1906 and was the second church built in Hugoton.
Currently the church is being used by St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church congregation each Sunday.
Located in the Museum Complex.rn