The U.S. Cavalry Museum and 1st Infantry Division Museum document the storied history of American Cavalry and the “Big Red One”. Appropriately, the museums stand next to each other in the heart of Fort Riley’s historic Main Post.
The building directly to the rear of the Cavalry Museum is the 1st Infantry Division Museum. This building was constructed in 1905 for use as a barracks. In later years it was used as offices for the Cavalry Board which tested and reported on new equipment. During the 1960s and 1970s, it was used as the post library before being opened in June 1992 as the 1st Infantry Division Museum. Today, visitors may view exhibits that relate the rich and colorful history of the Big Red One from 1917 to the present.