The Horton Swimming Pool features public swimming with a playground, tennis, basketball, and volleyball courts, and track, soccer and baseball fields are nearby.rn
Lakeview Country Club at Mission Lake is a 9 hole golf course with golf supplies and a restaurant.
Located in the Northeast corner of Horton, Mission Lake is easily accessible from either US-73 or from Highway K-20/US-73. It has 278 acres of camping grounds with over 100 RV spaces that include individual electrical hook-ups, shower houses, boating, water skiing, jet skiing, fishing, horseshoes, sand volleyball, basketball, playgrounds, picnic areas, shelter houses, and golf course.
An added feature to the Mission Lake is the “Park Lake” which lies next to US-73/K-20 at the east edge of Horton. This small lake provides excellent fishing and the east side is handicap accessible. Annual fishing contests and bike-a-thons are held on the shores of “Park Lake” and provide for a full and fun day for the area children. A floating dock was built by the members of the Horton Fish & Game Club. A railing is provided so wheelchairs can safely go out onto the dock.
Camping season is open from April 1st to October 31st:
$7.00/$155, Daily/Season Camprn$6.00/$60.00, Daily/Season Boatingrn$10/$90.00, Daily/Season Jet Ski
Electric hook-ups are available for $7.00 a day. These permits can be obtained at the caretakers quarters located on the west side of the lake.rn
The cornerstone for the present church was laid August 4, 1915 and the structure was dedicated May 15, 1916 by the Most Reverend Bishop Ward of Leavenworth in the presence of 25 priests, Abbot Innocent Wolf, O.S.B. of Atchison and a vast congregation.
The Sanctuary of St. Leo’s Church is done in pastel colors and is considered to be one of the finest in the northeastern part of the State. It contains beautiful stained glass windows, depicting various events in the life of Christ in addition to the exquisite statuaries and beautiful altars. The church is 150 feet long, 120 feet high, and can seat 500 people. Visitors are impressed by it’s beauty. It was designed along Romanesque lines by architect Leo Bauer and built by his father, Vic Bauer. In 1979 it was completely refurbished; and in 1984 the Tracker Organ (1895) was completely restored.rn
The Casino is owned by the Kickapoo Tribe in Kansas, located 6 miles West of Horton, KS on Highway 20. It’s Las Vegas style gaming at a friendly pace. Come, stay as long as you like, our “boat” never leaves. Enjoy high stakes, high limit entertainment in a calm, no pressure atmosphere. Take a chance on our twenty-five dollar slot machines, odds are you’re going to like them.rn
The original “Newman” Methodist Episcopal Church was dedicated January 6, 1889, honoring Bishop Newman. The brick structure located at the corner of 10th and First Avenue East was the first Church built in Horton. A severe storm damaged the church in 1894. Extensive remodeling was done in 1914-15 and the church was enlarged. Regretfully, the Bell Tower section which housed a small study was removed as part of the remodeling. Impressive music, from the Rake Memorial (Reuter) Organ accompanies the Chancel Choir. rn
The First Baptist Church is located at 1101 Central Avenue and was charted November 16, 1887, with eleven members. The present church was built in 1915 after the congregation united with the Free Will Baptist Church. In 1946 the Hammond organ was installed in the sanctuary by donations from friends and parents as a memorial to the World War II veterans. The art glass windows in the auritorium beautify the building. The large windows are in a series of six representing birth, baptism, ministry, crucifixion and resurrection of the Savior. rn
At the south end of Horton on Highway 159 and 4th street, on the west side of the road, is an unusual small park. This park was dedicated to C.H. Schneider, a bachelor, who in his lifetime gave more than generously to the needy and afflicted. On March 1, 1931, railroad officials and townsmen dedicated an elm tree to him. The mural at the park is a scene taken from a photograph of the Bourquins’ collection. The picture was taken from the Marsh viaduct (which has been removed) looking west and showing the depot and the Rock Island Park.rn
The Rose of Sharon Sanctuary stands as a source of inspiration and meditation on the crest of a hill, located from Horton, 2 miles West on Highway K-20, 2 miles North then 1/4 mile West making a right turn down a driveway to a quiet and tranquil country scene.
The statues of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Christ the King are graciously surrounded by 106 rose bushes in the shape of a heart that provides those coming to pray a treasured place, for peace of mind and a time of reflection and prayer.rn
At 1020 East 8th Street stands the most historical house in Horton. The house was built in 1886 by the C.R.I. & P. Railroad Company, as a show place and for entertainment. It stands proudly at the crest of a hill, in the area known as Horton Heights.
W.R. Honnell was a United States Indian Agent for the Kickapoo, Pottawatomie, Sac & Fox, Iowa, Chippewa and Muncie tribes. He was an historian for Horton and was known for writing articles about the Indian tribes, Pony Express and may other historical subjects.
In 1891 Mr. Honnell was the President of the Bank of Horton. Mr. and Mrs. Honnell attended the sight-seeing tour on the day the house was opened to the public. Mr. Honnell later purchased the house as an anniversary present for his wife. It is now owned by Charles and Bernetta Schecher, who have restored it.rn