Category: Historic Homes

Historic Homes

Mueller-Schmidt House Museum

Built in 1881, the Mueller-Schmidt House is the oldest Dodge City house still standing on its original site, and remains Ford County’s “Home of Stone,” A Cattleman’s Mansion.

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it was built with 21-inch limestone walls by John Mueller, the first bootmaker in old Dodge City. It was later purchased in 1890 by pioneer blacksmith, Adam Schmidt. Two of Adam and Elizabeth Schmidt’s children lived in the house until 1960. Ford County purchased the house in 1965.

There is a special collection on Pioneer Mothers. Original furniture from the Mueller and Schmidt families is featured, along with artifacts from the pioneers of Dodge City, including Robert M. Wright, Charles Rath, Bat Masterson, George M. Hoover, Wyatt Earp & Ham Bell.rn rn

Historic Sternberg Mansion

Wichita’s first historic property, the Historic Sternberg Mansion was built for the areas most prolific builder and all at a time in the late 1800s when Wichita was growing faster than any other city in the United States. The Historic Sternberg Mansion has been featured in national magazines, books, newspapers, post cards, paintings and more. On the National, State and Local historic registers, the Historic Sternberg Mansion is an architectural gem at the very center of Wichita’s original historic district. 8,000 square feet, five fireplaces, seven porches on three levels and four stories plus a full basement, the Historic Sternberg Mansion is the only remaining grand mansion from a time when Wichita was known as “The City of Beautiful Homes” and indeed Sternberg Mansion was used in early advertisements to promote the beautiful homes in Wichita.

Aley Mansion

The Aley Mansion was built in 1887 by William Henry Sternberg and is notable for its high-style Queen Anne Architecture. The home’s prior occupants and history is well documented as are the works of W.H. Sternberg who not only built the Aley Mansion but built buildings across the country (in at least three states) that today (2010) are on the National Register of Historic Places. Tours are available upon request.

The Castle

Not a typical riverside residence in the least, but definitely one of the boldest homes built during the early period of Wichita’s illustrious growth is the Campbell Castle. Built in 1888 by Burton Harvey Campbell, this architectural masterpiece was duplicated from architectural drawings of the “mother” castle which was originally constructed in the foothills of Scotland. But it is more than mortar and limestone, it is the result of one man’s dream and several architects’ expertise.

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places for it architectural significance, the Scottish castle has been delicately restored after years of neglect to its original beauty and splendor. When the Campbells left in 1910, the mansion was bought by Walter Morris. Fifty years later it became the property of Maye Crumm, who began calling it Crumm Castle. For a period of time it housed the Belle Carter School, an institution which was begun and operated by Crumm. However, in the 1970’s the upkeep of The Castle became a constant struggle, and to raise funds for its survival, the 28-room mansion was opened to the public for tours of the main areas.

rnIn 1994, Terry and Paula Lowry purchased the property. Out of respect for Campbell and his vision of over 100 years ago, they returned his name to the structure – The Castle Inn Riverside, “The Historic Campbell Castle.” Damaged stones were painstakingly removed and replaced with new stones carved by expert masons. The woodwork and floors have been brought back to their original luster. The roof has been reslated with tiles from Vermont. The electrical and plumbing systems were completely replaced, and the third floor ballroom level was converted into five luxurious suites. The Carriage House, which had been legally condemned by the city and was crumbling, was rebuilt and now houses three suites and the Lowrys’ apartment. What once were structures composed of stone, mortar, wood, and glass, The Castle and Carriage House have now been reconstructed using massive steel beam supports which will fortify this magnificent landmark for scores of years to come.

Now you can escape to the romance of another era, of sunlight shining through pastel stained glass onto intricate woodwork and exquisite antiques in this Inn along the Riverside.

Ingleboro

J.R. Burrows, a banker, built the mansion in 1883. The two story frame Victorian home was outfitted with the finest felt wallpapers, carbide and kerosene lights, imported stained glass windows, cherry oak and maple woodwork, bay windows and oak and cherry mantled firplaces. The remainder of the city block was made into a private park, complete with deer, a stream, peafowl and a gazebo.

The home has served as a hospital, a nursing home, and now a Bed and Breakfast and Tea Room. rn

Port Library

The Port Library was built as a home of the late Mrs. Emma Port in 1916 and donated to the City of Beloit in 1931. Conveniently located mid-town, the library is provided a rotating collection of materials, is on a state-wide computer link and has access to the collections of virtually any library through inter-library loan.

The Port Library is home to 21,000 volumes, 1,000 records, current and back issues of 90+ periodicals, in-house copying machine and microfilm reader printer, in-house computer, talking book service, deposit collection for hospital, law-enforcement center and classrooms, summer reading program, children story hours, meeting areas and other community services. The library staff take an active part in area economic development moves by providing materials and programs to support individual business’ needs.rn