The St. Ignatius Chapel was built within the fort in 1889 and replaced the original chapel which had been built close by in 1871.
An historical marker was dedicated in 1967, and reads, “Rich in the tradition of the early frontier this historic shrine, which was built as the Church of St. Ignatius, has had a great influence on the religious life of the Command from the days of the troopers of saddle, saber and rifle to the nuclear scholar and student of present times.
From its earliest foundation in 1827 the Archives of Fort Leavenworth identify an illustrious list of courageous Jesuit missionaries, Benedictine monks, U.S. Army chaplains and other distinguished soldiers who have contributed immeasurably to this glorious heritage. To these noble soldiers of God and Country this historic marker is dedicated.”
Entrance to the Fort may be restricted.
Address: 601 McClellan Ave