The LEGLER BARN MUSEUM houses the history of the city of Lenexa and the area. Built in 1864 by the early Lenexa resident Adam Legler, the Legler barn is one of the few stone barns still in existence in Kansas. It was originally situated on the Santa Fe Trail at the corner of 95th and Quivira, Lenexa, Kansas, and reconstructed in 1983 at its current location in Sar-Ko-Par Trails Park. Both temporary and permanent exhibits fill the spaces once held by livestock. Wednesday, visitors receive a special treat with a live demonstration by the Legler Barn Quilters.
A renovated PRAIRIE SCHOONER was added to the museum complex collection in 1989. This restored Prairie Schooner Wagon is complete with over 65 authentic and reproduced accessories considered by settlers to be the necessities for early day prairie travel.
A reproduction SOD HOUSE built on the property by historical society volunteers and community service groups allows a unique glimpse into life on the prairies. Built with traditional sod house techniques, one marvels how pioneers managed to live in such a house.
The 1912-13 FRISCO TRAIN DEPOT relocated from old town Lenexa.
The STRANG LINE WAITING STATION is located next to the Northern Pacific Caboose. The Missouri & Kansas Interurban Railroad developed by William Strang became known as the Strang Line. The Wiedemann waiting station once used by the residents in the Morrison Ridge subdivision now houses the history of the rail line it once serviced.
The LHS HERB GARDEN is kept by volunteers of the Lenexa Historical Society. The garden is filled with a variety of herbs and flowering plants. Take an educational walk through the garden path or simply relax on the wooden benches.
Tours to the Complex can be designed to fit any visiting group. Each site is usually scheduled for twenty minutes, with the Barn Museum comprising two floors requiring about forty minutes. Student tours are encouraged to form groups of ten to fifteen students with a chaperone for each group.