Turn back the clock and drive across this graceful old bridge built in the 1880s.
The Latham Cemetery has stone markers dating to the early period of the town’s history in the late 1880s. Cemetery records can be found at the Ellet Museum in town.
This graceful stone bridge, listed on the National Historic Register, was built in the early 1900s and displays beautiful native stone work.
Sheep ranch educational tours of a faciltiy for over 7,000 sheep.
The Douglass Pioneer Museum features historic pioneer artifacts in period rooms.
The building listed on the National Register of Historic Places was constructed in 1938 of native stone for the WPA (Works Projects Administration) by Italian stone cutters and builders and is still used for community and social events.
The Muddy Creek Bridge is a reinforced concrete bridge which is listed on the National Register and is believed to have been built between 1900 and 1910. It is one of only ten reinforced concrete arch bridges still in use in Kansas.
Housed in a one-room schoolhouse built by Col. Ellet in the 1880s, the collection includes the written and pictorial history of the Latham area, cemetery records, and artifacts from the school itself.
The Ellet school was built in 1880 and named the Centerville School. Ellet was the name everyone knew it by, possibly because the school house was located near Colonel Bill Ellet’s land and his hand in forming District 7. W.H. Ellet served on the board as director from 1880 to 1895.
When the school was first built the chimney was in the center, later it was moved because the teacher could not see the children behind the stove. In 1931, the Ante room was built onto the building.
Nell Hawley was Centerville’s first teacher, teaching during 1881, 1882 for 4 months and in 1883 for 8 months. Her salary was $40 a month.
During the 1914 school year discipline problems caused Myrthe Mohler to resign after teaching 16 weeks. Due to declining enrollment the Centerville school closed in 1942.
The one-room school house was a very important part of the community it served, not only as a school, but also as a gathering place for programs, suppers, and Sunday services.
Orginally the school was located 8 miles west of Latham. In 1980, the Latham Lions Club moved it into town.
Established in 1999, the Towanda Area Historical Museum is housed in the Historic Masonic Lodge Building, which was constructed in 1904. We are dedicated to the care and preservation of the culture and history of the greater Towanda, Kansas area.
The museum has pioneer relics and collections from early settlers and special collections from other museums, along with over 400 unique Towanda related photographs available for copies.
Also in developement is a new genealogy section for your ancestry research!! We have a microfilm viewer with a printer and several rolls of old local newspaper microfilm. We also have the means to receive on short term loan microfilm from the national archives and other resources. Stop by and check us out! Hours are listed below, or by special appointment.
View a collection of over 3000 dolls in an area of 2800 square feet. You will also have the opportunity to watch dolls being repaired.