The U.S. Cavalry Museum building was constructed in 1854 and used for nearly thirty years as the Post Hospital. In 1889, as Fort Riley’s mission changed from a frontier to a school post, this building was remodeled and became post headquarters. At that time, a new front entrance and bell tower were added. Notice the change in architectural style from the smooth “pasture” cut limestone indicative of the fort’s initial construction in the 1850s to the rough, “quarry faced” stone cut indicative of construction between 1885 and 1912. This building continued as headquarters until 1948. In 1957 it became the home of the Fort Riley Museum which became the U.S. Cavalry Museum five years later.
The museum’s nearly 10,000 square feet of exhibit space displays the colorful history of the American mounted horse soldier from the Revolutionary War till Operation Desert Storm. Included in the Museum’s collection are uniforms, weapons equipment and other memorabilia.
Old Glory Antiques & Crafts Gift ShoprnStore in Museum. (785) 239-2743.