Category: Museums

Museums

Haun Museum

The Haun Museum is located in the first house on the townsite of Jetmore. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it was built in 1879, by T.S. Haun, the founder of Jetmore, then called Buckner. Mr. Haun edited the first newspaper in Jetmore, The Buckner Independent, in the west room of the upstairs in 1879. The ground floor was the residence of the Haun family. Early in 1881 the county offices were housed in the east room upstairs in the house. On the 24 of March, 1891, the first child was born on the Jetmore Townsite in this house, Margarite Pauline, daughter of Elizabeth and T.S. Haun. Travelers would stop by the house for food and lodging. It also served as a community center.

Visitors are given a glimpse of daily life of the early County settlers, as they view an office, a dining room, a kitchen, a bedroom and a parlor, complete with furnishings of the era. Mannequins in period dress add to the authenticity. There are also displays of adult and children\\\’s clothing, tools used by farmers and craftsmen, and a postal station.

There is something of interest for visitors of all ages as they enjoy taking a trip through the past, sharing the articles and scenes of the people of early-day Hodgeman County.

The Haun Museum also has displays representing life after the pioneer period and into the 1920s and 1930s. Displays of American involvment in wars from the Revolutionary through World War II and Vietnam. A sample Service Station from the 1960s is present as is a printing press used by the Jetmore Republican in past years. Since the Rail Road was removed from Jetmore, there has been a display constructed in the yard behind the museum building.

The museum has building a reproduction of the interior of a One-Room-School-House where a teacher is waiting for her students with books and lunch pails on the desks. In the year 1998, a metal building was added in the lot behind the museum which now houses antique farm and fire equipment, a 1950\\\’s service station with a 1949 Plymouth 4 door auto, a stone post display and a horse drawn buggy.

The museum is ever changing and growing with new displays being created to represent their time period.

Hamilton County Museum

Enjoy your stay at Syracuse with a visit to the Hamilton County Museum. There are many exhibits displayed in cases as well as period rooms set up to give you a glimpse of life at home for the early pioneers of the western plains.

Enjoy these attractions:

  • Pictures
  • Books
  • Tools
  • Clothing
  • Antique Cars
  • Military Memorabilia
  • Laundry Equipment
  • General Store
  • Bibles
  • Barber Shop
  • Buggies
  • Quilts
  • Trucks
  • Business Machines
  • Stoves
  • rn

  • Dishes
    rn
  • Maps
  • Cameras
  • Farm Equipment
  • Indian Artifacts
  • Hospital Equipment
  • Sewing Machines
  • Room Arrangements
  • Gun Collection

Stauth Memorial Museum

The Stauth Memorial Museum features the travel adventures of Claude and Donalda Stauth, long-time residents of southwestern Kansas.

Journey with Claude and “Donnie” as you stroll through the permanent exhibit Around the World. Browse colorful displays of handicrafts and arts from every corner of the earth. Experience famous sites and everyday places from around he world through video and slide programs based on the Stauths’ trips. Explore the world and plan your dream trip with the aid of a computer in the World Discovery Center.

The Stauths’ worldly adventures are seen in enlarged photographs from travels on one wall in the display, which serves a a guide to their trips that circled the globe. Photos from Australia, Southeast Asia, North Africa, Eastern Europe and other places across the globe display their enjoyment and experiences in bright colors.

Glass cases hold the different types of artifacts the couple picked up on their travels. They collected many musical instruments from all over the world along with ornate ivory.

Ralph A. Fry, a friend and neighbor of the Stauths, hunted big game animals in Alaska, Canada, and Norway ranging from moose to polar bears. Ralph brought his trophies home to Montezuma. See western Kansas’ most extensive collection of North American game animals, including former record-breaking specimens and exotic species.

Horace Greeley Museum

In 1975 the newly organized Greeley County Historical Society met with the commissioners and asked for the old courthouse to use as a museum. Many meetings, circulating petitions etc. and time was put into this by board members. Thus permission was given to use it for a museum. It was named Horace Greeley museum, and put on the National Register of Historical Places.

Each room in the three story museum contains a wealth of history from the area. We have period rooms, a special collection of lanterns, marbles, bells and a Columbi mammoth skull that was discovered in Greeley County. In the library we have the Ghost Towns through current newspapers. Some of our prized possessions are canceled warrants and vouchers, among these are those who hauled stone for the courthouse, first Dr.’s, sheriff, commissioners and scalp vouchers.

GENEALOGY – The genealogy room is the “high-light” of several of us involved with the museum. We have the first census-1877 thru current. Marriage, birth and death records. Homestead records. We research diligently and have fulfilled all requests at this time.

MAMMOTH – The mammoth skull discovered by an area farmer has been identified as that of a female Columbi Mammoth dating to 11,000 B.P. (Before Present).

COLLECTIONS – Among the various items housed at the Horace Greeley Museum is the "eye catching" marble collection, and spinning tops. In this same room we have a razor collection, ladies hair combs, curling irons, hair weavings, wig form making tools, barber shop equipment, and various souvenir dishes. There is also a beautiful collection of bells, belonging to one person, Vivian McKinney, that was collected over a 25 year period.

There is one very impressive collection of lanterns, bicycle-railroad-fireman-marine-miner lights and an early street light. Oil cans, tools, waffle and wafer irons, various mouse traps, and a leather traveling tool kit add to the collections.

In another room we have displays of early ranching memorabilia; also a copy of the first brand issued in Greeley County. Many of the early day homesteader-photographer-lawyer, Dave Beckstrom’s, items that were used by him are displayed.

PHOTOGRAPHS – The hall walls are lined with hundreds of pictures depicting ranching, farming, railroad, early residence and business places, families, schools, and churches. These pictures are perhaps studied more than any other items in the museum.

PERIOD ROOMS – The upper floor is a parlor, ladies wear, kitchen , high school, grade school, and military rooms. This entire area along with the court room, upon completion of the building in 1890 was said to have been the largest open area under one roof between Kansas City and Denver.

COURTROOM – The judges bench, gavel, spittoon, witness chair, and the thirteen jurors chairs are displayed in the court room. Due to community response, the courtroom also houses a quilt display, early farming tools, musical instruments, railroad items, hospital related display, an oak Dr.’s cabinet which is complete – meaning patent medicines; optometrist, dental and medical tools. This cabinet dates back to horse and buggy days of the pioneer doctor. With the Dr.’s medical cabinet is a book entitled "Buggy Tracks" depicting the trials and triumphs of the doctor’s life.

JAILS – The basement area "highlight" attractions are the jails. The men’s jail still contains the two cells. The women’s jail was an open room with bars across the windows. There is a library established in one basement rooms and storage in another.

Grant County Museum

The Grant County Museum is housed in a handmade adobe structure built for a county shop in the 1930s as a WPA project. The museum is now on the State Register of Historic Places.

The museum chronicles county and area history from mastodons to gas wells. Its emphasis is on the Santa Fe Trail, Jedediah Smith and Wagonbed Springs. Also included in the Museum Complex is a historic hotel and one-room schoolhouse.rn

Railroad Museum

Bucklin was founded as a railroad town by a civil engineer with the Chicago, Kansas & Nebraska Railroad named Bucklin. It has the distinction of being a three railroad depot town, one of which is open to the public as an historic railroad museum. In addition, railroad souvenirs are available Miss Pitty’s Gift Shop.

The Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad arrived in the town of Bucklin in 1880. That same year, Col. C.D. Perry of Englewood, Illinois with Wichita capitalists, built the Bucklin to Dodge City railroad, the very roadbed of the present Dodge City, Ford & Bucklin Railroad. The 26.5 miles of trackage connected the C.R.I.&P. in Bucklin to the A.T.&S.F. in Dodge City passing through Ford, Kansas, just south of the Arkansas River.

Visit the small Ford County community of Bucklin and see the ornate Methodist church at Main and Maple.

Mueller-Schmidt House Museum

Built in 1881, the Mueller-Schmidt House is the oldest Dodge City house still standing on its original site, and remains Ford County’s “Home of Stone,” A Cattleman’s Mansion.

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it was built with 21-inch limestone walls by John Mueller, the first bootmaker in old Dodge City. It was later purchased in 1890 by pioneer blacksmith, Adam Schmidt. Two of Adam and Elizabeth Schmidt’s children lived in the house until 1960. Ford County purchased the house in 1965.

There is a special collection on Pioneer Mothers. Original furniture from the Mueller and Schmidt families is featured, along with artifacts from the pioneers of Dodge City, including Robert M. Wright, Charles Rath, Bat Masterson, George M. Hoover, Wyatt Earp & Ham Bell.rn rn

Boot Hill Museum And Front Street

Boot Hill Museum is an accredited western history village museum located on the original site of Boot Hill Cemetery in downtown Dodge City. Life in the 19th century is interpreted through audio-visual programs, exhibits, a reconstruction of Dodge City in 1876 and old west restorations.

Boot Hill Museum has over 60,000 objects, photographs, and documents. The Museum has obtained these over its lifetime from donations and a limited number of purchases. Most of the items date from Dodge City’s early days in the 1870’s through the 1920’s, and most belonged to the original residents of Dodge City. Many items were acquired by Boot Hill Museum from the Beeson Museum when it closed in 1964.

Daily summer daytime entertainment includes living history displays, stagecoach rides through downtown Dodge City and gunfight reenactments. A gunfight re-enactment and a Long Branch Saloon Variety Show are offered every evening beginning Memorial weekend through the third or fourth week of August. (Subject to change.) (Long Branch Variety Show and dinner are available year round for groups by reservation.) rn