Both civilians and soldiers were buried in the military cemetery. The saying then was “the rich are buried at the Fort and the cowhands and poor are buried on Boot Hill or gone to “hell.” Friends and family buried Marshal Ed Masterson, Bat’s brother, at Fort Dodge in 1878. Some drunken cowboys killed the Marshal in a dance hall south of the railroad tracks in Dodge City when he tried to enforce a disturbance of peace incident. Masterson’s body was later moved to a cemetery that no longer exists in Dodge City. No evidence of his burial site remains today. The bodies of military personnel were removed to Fort Leavenworth in 1886. Presently, the cemetery is part of the Kansas Soldier’s Home property. rn
The Veteran’s Memorial features an M60A3 tank which is a fully tracked & heavily armored close combat tank.
The Iwo Jima Memorial has become a popular attraction for people visiting the WaKeeney area. The memorial site not only honors the Marines that fought and died in WWII, but all off those that have fought and died in the service of our country.
Erected in 2000, This granite obelisk is dedicated to the memory of all Osborne County military veterans who ever served in active duty. Located on the north side of the historic courthouse square, the black African/grey granite memorial was funded primarily with private donations from hundreds of veterans and their families. A companion book listing all known veterans who have livedin Osborne County is kept in the Office of the County Clerk in the courthouse.
This memorial honors Ness County Veterans, with a special remembrance to those who made the ultimate sacrifice when answering their country’s call. The park includes a Wall of Honor, Media Center, and Serenity Areas.
Located in Downtown Wilson in the city park by the railroad right of way is the World Wars Memorial in memory to those soldiers and marines who lost their lives during the wars.rn
The “Soldiers” Monument was erected in Neodesha Cemetery in 1908 under the auspices of Humphrey post 145, of the Grand Army of the Republic, honoring those who fought for the Union Army during the Civil War. A total of 248 Neodesha soldiers served in the Civil War.
The large cast iron cannon in front of this monument is a 24 pounder Seige and Garrison gun. It was built in West Point, New York in 1844 and weighs about 5500 pounds. It has a six-inch diamenter bore and could shoot a six-inch diameter projectile weighing about 24 pounds well over one mile.
Located in the Neodesha Cemeteryrn
Dedicated in July, 2008, the Erie Veteran’s Memorial is a tribute to the veterans who have served their country, from the Civil War to the War in Iraq. Sponsored by the Erie Area Chamber of Commerce, funds were raised by selling inscriptions and pavers and the memorial was brought to fruition in less than one year.
Made of black and gray granite, the memorial is over 16 feet long and 9 feet high with over 200 names of veterans as well as their branch of service and years served. Over 200 pavers in front of the memorial have dedications to family members, businesses, and civic organizations. Phase two is beginning in September, 2008, with the addition of another sidewalk, pavers and walkway behind the memorial, and lighted flagpoles. Inscriptions and names on the pavers are still being added.
The cannon located north of the Veterans Memorial is one of the first things to attract attention in Logan Memorial Park. The first cannon was made by Henry A. (Daddy) Diltz in the early 1900s. Every fourth of July he would go to the park and fire his cannon. Later, it was sacrificed for scrap metal to help the war effort.
The cannon which is standing in the park today is a World War I cannon presented to the park by the government in the early 1940s.rn
This memorial park has served Cherryvale since 1881 when the Leavenworth, Lawrence & Galveston Railroad offered the six-acre tract to the city. In 1895, Civil War Veterans held their first “Old Soldiers’ Southern Kansas Reunion right here in Logan Park, Cherryvale, Kansas. This “Reunion Association” leased the park for a two-week period for each year for 99 years. The “Association” named it Logan Park in honor of General John A. Logan, the first commander-in-chief of the Grand Army of the Republic from 1868 to 1871.
The annual reunions were the delight of the young and old alike and was the highlight of the year. The soldiers arrived by horse and buggy and by special trains. Free cots were furnished in the Women’s Relief Corps building; these women prepared and served dinners for 25 cents each.
The “Auditorium” in Logan Park was the center of activities in those days. The famous Teddy Roosevelt was the first speaker among many distinguished soldiers and statesmen to speak from the platform of the “Auditorium.” In 1913, a special guest speaker was U.S. Senator Charles Curtis, who became Vice-President in 1928 when Herbert Hoover was our United States President.
By the late 1920s the number of the “Old Soldiers” had decreased and by 1939, most all of them had joined the “Great Association Up There.”
On May 20, 1989, a Veterans Memorial was dedicated in memory of those who served our country. It was erected through the labor of volunteers and monetary donations from area residents and former Cherryvale residents. The Memorial honors all branches of services including veterans who were MIAs or POWs. Cherryvale bricks are incorporated in the design of the walls where service emblems are embedded into the monuments with service flags proudly flying 24 hours a day.
Logan Park is still the center of community activities. It is the location of the municipal swimming pool, tennis court, high school football field, plus playground equipment and picnic facilities.rn