Category: Marysville

Marysville

City Parks

City Park boasts plenty of shade, a wonderful swimming pool, tennis courts, picnic area, playground, gazebo, auditorium, public rest rooms and several historical buildings that can be toured. In addition, you may camp with electricity at City Park free of charge. The City Park is located just south of the intersection of Highways 77 and 36.

Dargatz Park has a small playground for children, two baseball fields and basketball courts. Dargatz Park is located on 15th Street a few blocks north of Highway 36.

Lions Park has plenty of shade, a nice shelter for picnics and a playground. Lions Park is located at the intersection of 16th and North Streets.rn

Doll House Museum

Enjoy a nationally recognized collection of Dolls, Indians, Toys and History, stretching from antique to the present time and all appearing in storytelling antics.

The “Doll Museum comes with it’s own unique Story Telling Experience.”

Over 1,500 dolls, toys and accessories are on display in the Doll Museum. The antique dolls include china, bisque, wax, wood, composition, papier mache, and even sculpty clay. Indian artifacts, mostly from the Otoe-Missouria tribes of this area, are also abundant. Other artifacts include antique toys, miniatures, carriages, old rocking horses, pedal toys, a mobo horse, and doll houses.

Artists dolls include Ravca, Robert von Essen, Lawton, Kish, Patricia Rose, Yolanda Bello, Pat Bomar, Jan Hagara, Himstedt, Jan McLean and many others.

This beautiful museum is housed in a turn of the century brick building on the Main Street of Marysville, Kansas. It faces the 1918 brick streets that adjoins the Historic Koester Block and is truly an experience to remember.

The enchanting Doll Museum is ground level, handicap accessible, and open by appointment year round.

To arrange a tour, call Lois at 785-562-3029.

City Park Historic Displays

After the Union Pacific Railroad converted to diesel power in the early 1950s, Marysville, a crew-change point, asked for and received the great old steam locomotive on display in City Park, a Baldwin Consolidation 2-8-0, built in 1901 for UP, later used for short-line freight hauls.

Nearby are the Beattie depot (circa 1870) and the former Bommer School House. The sod house was created by the Marysville Kiwanis Club to depict life in its earliest days in this community.rn

Pony Express Bronze Horse & Rider

The bronze Pony Express Horse & Rider are located at the Pony Express Plaza, between Broadway & Highway 36 at 7th Street. The park is currently under construction, due to be finished this summer. The Pony Express Horse & Rider is the largest sculpture of its kind in the Midwest. Pony Express rider, Jack Keetley, represented in this sculpture, was the first rider to gallop west from Marysville the night of April 3, 1860, on the initial run to Sacramento.

Sculpted by Dr. Richard Bergen, Salina, the exciting bronze piece seems alive, thundering across the prairie to the next station. The bronze sculpture was made possible by the R.L. and Elsa Helvering Trust and dedicated by Gov. John Carlin on July 4, 1985, and 125th anniversary celebration of the Pony Express.

Two LifeTiles Murals will be added to the Pony Express Plaza in the spring of 2009, a Pony Express Mural and a Train Mural. Produced by Boston, MA artist Rufus Seder, the murals are a rare art form. Future plans are to add a third mural incorporating Marshall Ferry and other Marysville history.

Each mural consists of 90 individual glass tiles with images embedded in each tile. When the tiles are viewed from a stationary position they appear as a fixed image. However, when the viewer moves from one side to another, the embedded image appears to depict motion as the viewer moves.rn

Historic Trails Park

Historic Trails Park recognizes the Trails that merged at this point because of the ability to cross the river on the ferry. Trail traffic often crossed a low water ford north of this park bringing westbound travelers through this very spot on the south bank of the Blue River. Marshall’s Rope Ferry operated further up river. Often hundreds of wagons with thousands of pioneers camped for days waiting their turn to cross. Pioneer death from illness was common and diaries tell of many graves near the crossings.

A replica of the ferry used by pioneers, Pony Express riders, and other travelers sits in the park. A rope crossed the river above the ferry which rode a pulley back and forth. By turning the wheel, another rope would shift the ferry into or away from the swift river current, pushing the ferry across the river.

Emigrants were the first to cross the Blue River at Marysville on the original Frank Marshall Rope Ferry between 1851 and 1854, until a bridge was built. Costs were $5 per wagon and $0.25 per head of livestock.

Contact the Marysville Chamber of Commerce for directions to the park.rn

Pony Express Original Home Station #1

Built in 1859 by Joseph Cottrell, the Pony Express Barn Museum is the oldest building in Marshall County. Too, it is the only original home station along the Pony Express route at its original site.

The Pony Express System was inaugurated April 3, 1860, from St. Joseph, where the railroad ended. The St. Joseph-to-Sacramento run covered 1,966 miles and lasted only 18 months, when the Pony Express bowed out to the faster-moving telegraph.rn