Category: Homes

Homes

Land of OZ Dorothy’s House

Liberal’s Dorothy’s House was built in 1907 and donated to the Seward County Historical Society. It has been carefully restored and furnished with period furnishings to reproduce the warmth of the farmhouse where Dorothy realized that:

“There’s no place like home.”

In the “Land of Oz” families can wander down the Yellow Brick Road through 5000 square feet of animated entertainment – good and bad witches, the Munchkins, talking trees, winged monkeys, and of course, Dorothy, the Scarecrow, Tin Man, and Cowardly Lion are all there to enthrall children of all ages.

And adults will enjoy the Oz memorabilia on display, including the original model of Dorothy’s house used in the 1939 filming of the Wizard of Oz.

Historic O’Loughlin House

The O’Loughlin house was called, “The Little White House”, as it was the largest building in the town and was the center for social gatherings, church services, meetings and housed visiting dignitaries.

The White House is the oldest two-story house in Lakin. It was built in 1875 for Alonzo Boylan, the first depot agent. John and Mary O’Loughlin’s wedding reception was held there in 1882. In 1916 the house was purchased by the O’Loughlin family and moved to its present site. It was remodeled and became the home of the William O’Loughlins, a son of John and Mary.

It has been decorated in keeping with the 1916 era, and is located at the Museum Complex.

Gernon House

This structure is the oldest “post rock” stone house built in Russell in 1872 by Nicholas Gernon, a blacksmith and one of the original settlers. This lovely home has been fully restored to the period of the 1890s.

Step up to the house on original limestone sidewalks and enter the front parlor where you will stop back in time. Imagine the merry tunes playing on the piano, a baby being rocked to sleep in the cradle, pumping water at the cistern out back, mother running her treadle sewing machine, the girls playing with their china dolls and the boys enjoying a game of checkers.

In addition to the Gernon family being raised here, the house has served as a funeral parlor, apartments, and finally was acquired by the Russell County Historical Society in 1979.

Historic Homes Tour

Caney is proud of its rich heritage and is fortunate to have preserved much of the architecture of its early development. The Historical Society has prepared a self-guided tour brochure to illustrate some of Caney’s landmarks. Several of the landmarks are located downtown and six residences still remain from the early 1900s, including the oldest residence in Caney built in 1889.

The Al A. and Bertha Truskett Residence was built in 1891. Mr Truskett and his family settled in Caney about 1886 and he operated the Caney Grain Company. He also had a major interest in the lumber business.rn

Historic Homes Tour

Caney is proud of its rich heritage and is fortunate to have preserved much of the architecture of its early development. The Historical Society has prepared a self-guided tour brochure to illustrate some of Caney’s landmarks. Several of the landmarks are located downtown and six residences still remain from the early 1900s, including the oldest residence in Caney built in 1889.

The Al A. and Bertha Truskett Residence was built in 1891. Mr Truskett and his family settled in Caney about 1886 and he operated the Caney Grain Company. He also had a major interest in the lumber business.rn

Historic Homes Tour

This home was built in 1889 by Burlington banker, Thomas Foster. As was the custom in the Victorian era, the home is filled with fancy woodwork, stained glass windows, fireplaces, open stairways, and many other special accents.

The home was one of the first to boast running water, and it has remained in excellent condition because of continuous occupancy by only three owners since it was built. – 314 N 4th

Lane HouseThis restored brick home south of Burlington once belonged to real estate man, James M. Lane.

The home was built by the Lanes in 1869, and native walnut from a grove on the property was milled for the woodwork in the house. – Highway 75, South of Burlington