The Asylum Bridge which crosses the Marais des Cygnes River at First Street, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It was built during a three month period–October thru December, 1905, by the Kansas City Bridge Company, Kansas City, Mo. Its bid of $4,800 was the lowest of the ten companies bidding.
The pin-connected reverse Parker truss structure is 219 feet long and 16.5 feet wide and originally had gas lights at each end. No other examples of this bridge design have been located to date. It has been closed to vehicle traffic since the mid 1970s.