The Anderson County Historical Society acquired the Longfellow School building in 1993 which was originally built in 1885. When a fire destroyed the school in 1924, the lower floor was saved, and bonds were issued for repair and rebuilding for use until it was closed and later acquired by the Society.
The Museum uses the school rooms for period displays and memorabilia of early Anderson County. There is a Library Room, Home Room, School Room, Military & Lodge Room, Farm Room, Country Store, Church Room, Medical Room, Auditorium with courthouse items, bars from the cafe and drug store, and Canton diggings. The Basement Display Rooms contain Brecheisen family articles, Neva Allen large display, 1864 Jail door and other items, Kincaid trophies, old election items, newspapers, county records.